Arizona Marijuana Laws (Updated Daily)

ARIZONA MARIJUANA LAWS - CANNABIS & HEMP LAWS

You have 3 options:

Option #1: Free Information Below

Continue scrolling through all the information we have provided you on Marijuana Laws by State below, and attempt to figure it out all by yourself… (time-consuming).

Option #2: Cannabis College

Allow Learn Sativa University, guide you step-by-step.

If you are serious about opening up a medical marijuana dispensary in Florida, or getting involved with thte $52.5 million cannabis industry in general – please click the button below in order to learn more about Cannabis College.

We now offer turn-key solutions for those looking to open up a legal operation.

Option #3: Use our Free Cannabis Business Plan Generator Tool

Our new cannabis business plan tool will provide you with a step-by-step business plan.

 

Learn Sativa University can help you with the following:

  • Finding Investors
  • Medical Marijuana Business Plans
  • Dispensary Licensing Pre-req’s
  • Cultivation
  • MMTC Layouts
  • Recruiting XP Marijuana Staff
  • Locating DOH MMJ Doctors
  • & Much, Much More.

Choose Your Path Below:

Arizona’s Cannabis and Hemp Laws

Medical

Yes (as of 2010 under Prop. 203)

Legal Personal Possession Weight

The legal personal possession for qualifying medical marijuana patients is 2.5-ounces of dried cannabis flower.

Source

https://norml.org/legal/item/arizona-medical-marijuana

Recreational

No, however, voters will get another chance to make cannabis recreationally legal in the November 2020 elections.

Legal Personal Possession Weight

Without a medical marijuana license, all possession amounts of cannabis are considered felonies.

Source

https://norml.org/laws/item/arizona-penalties

Grow Your Own

Yes; however, you must be a registered medical marijuana patient.

Plant Count

No more than 12 cannabis plants that are at least 25-miles from a licensed medical marijuana dispensary.

Source

https://norml.org/legal/item/arizona-medical-marijuana

Is Caregiving Allowed

Yes; however, caregivers must be picked by a qualifying medical marijuana patient. There isn’t a specific license for caregiving in Arizona.

Plant Count

Caregivers are allowed to grow up to 12 cannabis plants per qualifying medical marijuana patient.

Weight

Caregivers are allowed to possess 2.5-ounces of dried cannabis flower per qualifying medical marijuana patient.

License Cost

The cost of a medical marijuana card is $150; however, SNAP members may receive medical marijuana cards for $75.

Apply here for a medical marijuana card:

https://medicalmarijuana.azdhs.gov/PatientApp.aspx

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

The Arizona Department of Health Services

Source

https://www.azdhs.gov/licensing/medical-marijuana/index.php

Vertical or Horizontal Cannabis License for Business

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

https://www.azdhs.gov/licensing/medical-marijuana/index.php

Total Cannabis License Cost

The total cost of a cannabis license is currently up to $5,000.

Click here for instructions to apply for a Dispensary Approval to Operate certificate:

https://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/medical-marijuana/dispensaries/Approval-to-Operate-Application-Instructions.pdf

Dispensary License Cost

The total cost of a cannabis license is currently up to $5,000.

Click here for instructions to apply for a Dispensary Approval to Operate certificate:

https://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/medical-marijuana/dispensaries/Approval-to-Operate-Application-Instructions.pdf

Cultivation License Cost

The total cost of a cannabis license is currently up to $5,000.

The current laws explain that a dispensary license also allows you to cultivate cannabis.

Click here for instructions to apply for a Dispensary Approval to Operate certificate:

https://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/medical-marijuana/dispensaries/Approval-to-Operate-Application-Instructions.pdf

Transportation License Cost

Click here for instructions to apply for a Dispensary Approval to Operate certificate:

https://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/medical-marijuana/dispensaries/Approval-to-Operate-Application-Instructions.pdf

However, if you are working for a medical cannabis company, then you must apply for a Dispensary Agent application. Apply here:

https://azdhs.gov/licensing/medical-marijuana/index.php#dispensary-agent

Disposal License Cost

Currently, there isn’t a specific license for this; however, you will need to apply for a Dispensary Approval to Operate.

https://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/medical-marijuana/dispensaries/Approval-to-Operate-Application-Instructions.pdf

Lab Testing License Cost

If you wish to become a lab testing entity, then you must apply for a Lab Testing Agent.

Apply here:

https://www.azdhs.gov/licensing/medical-marijuana/index.php#labs

CBD or Hemp License/Program (Yes or No)

Which Organization Manage Licenses?

Arizona Department of Agriculture

Cultivation License

Click here for an Industrial Hemp Cultivation License:

https://agriculture.az.gov/plantsproduce/industrial-hemp-program/industrial-hemp-license-applications

This application must be completed before the 15th of each month. This license applies to growers, processors, transporters, and harvesters.

Retail License

A Retail License is the same as the Cultivation License:

https://agriculture.az.gov/plantsproduce/industrial-hemp-program/industrial-hemp-license-applications

This license allows you to sell, distribute, or transfer hemp-derived products.

Food License

Currently, there isn’t a specific Food License for hemp-derived products. However, this is considered a grey zone that may require a lawyer to ensure your safety.

FAQs

Where Can You Legally Consume Cannabis in Arizona?

You may consume cannabis legally if you hold a valid medical marijuana card and you consume cannabis within a private residence.

Driving Under the Influence

Driving under the influence of cannabis in Arizona is considered a serious offense. You will likely be taken to jail if you’re suspected of a cannabis-based DUI.

Can You Transport Marijuana in Arizona?

You may transport marijuana if you are a medical marijuana patient or you are a registered Dispensary Agent. However, if you are neither, carrying cannabis is considered a felony in Arizona.

Can You Export Marijuana from Arizona

Under no circumstances can you export medical marijuana from Arizona.

Choose Your Path Below:

Cannabis College _ Learn Sativa University Logo (2)

ONLINE CANNABIS TRAINING

A problem was detected in the following Form. Submitting it could result in errors. Please contact the site administrator.
Important: Please do not take this next question personally, we are the absolute best at what we do.

This question allows us to provide you with an accurate blueprint for taking your business, cannabis knowledge, and investment portfolio to the next level as quickly (and realistically) as possible.

Be sure to answer the following question precisely.
Cannabis College _ Learn Sativa University Logo (2)

HANDS-ON CANNABIS TRAINING

A problem was detected in the following Form. Submitting it could result in errors. Please contact the site administrator.
Important: Please do not take this next question personally, we are the absolute best at what we do.

This question allows us to provide you with an accurate blueprint for taking your business, cannabis knowledge, and investment portfolio to the next level as quickly (and realistically) as possible.

Be sure to answer the following question precisely.

GREEN PRINT

300+ FULL COLOR PAGES + SUPPORT COURSE FOR FREE