You have 3 options:

Option #1: Free Information Below

Continue scrolling through all the information we have provided you on Marijuana Laws by State below, and attempt to figure it out all by yourself… (time-consuming).

Option #2: Cannabis College

Allow Learn Sativa University, guide you step-by-step.

If you are serious about opening up a medical marijuana dispensary in Florida, or getting involved with thte $52.5 million cannabis industry in general – please click the button below in order to learn more about Cannabis College.

We now offer turn-key solutions for those looking to open up a legal operation.

Option #3: Use our Free Cannabis Business Plan Generator Tool

Our new cannabis business plan tool will provide you with a step by step business plan.


Learn Sativa University can help you with the following:

  • Finding Investors
  • Medical Marijuana Business Plans
  • Dispensary Licensing Pre-req’s
  • Cultivation
  • MMTC Layouts
  • Recruiting XP Marijuana Staff
  • Locating DOH MMJ Doctors
  • & Much, Much More.

Choose Your Path Below:

Colorado’s Cannabis and Hemp Laws


Yes (as of 2000)

Legal Personal Possession Weight

Dried cannabis flower: 2-ounces



Yes (as of 2012)

Legal Personal Possession Weight

Dried cannabis flower: 1-ounce

Cannabis Extract: 8-grams


Grow Your Own


Plant Count

6 cannabis plants in total. Only 3 cannabis plants are allowed to be mature at a time.


Is Caregiving Allowed


Plant Count

Caregivers are allowed to take on 5 medical marijuana patients. This means that licensed caregivers can grow up to 36 cannabis plants. However, it’s recommended that you check with your local jurisdiction for a more accurate count.


If a caregiver is allowed to care for a medical marijuana patient, then a caregiver may possess up to 10-ounces of cannabis. However, the regulations state that the primary caregiver and patient must not exceed the legal limit, which means 2-ounces of cannabis.

License Cost

Currently, it costs $25 to apply for a Caregiver License.

Apply here:

To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card, the cost is $25. Apply here:

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

Colorado’s Department of Public Health and Environment


Vertical or Horizontal Cannabis License for Business

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

Colorado Department of Revenue

Marijuana Enforcement Division

Total Cannabis License Cost

The total cost for a Cannabis License varies in the state of Colorado between medical and recreational cannabis businesses. Click here to find out about the fee schedule:

Regulated Marijuana Business License Cost

If you want to apply to become a Regulated Marijuana Business, then apply for the License here:

Remember to check the cost of each type of Marijuana Business here:

This license covers

  • Cultivators
  • Retailers
  • Extractors
  • Processors
  • Transporters
  • Testing Facilities
  • Hospitality

Business Owner License Cost

If you are the owner of a cannabis business, you must apply for a Business Owner License:

If you own at least 10% of a cannabis business, apply here:

Employee License Cost

If you want to work for a medical or recreational cannabis company, you must obtain an Employee License with the Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED):

CBD or Hemp License/Program (Yes or No)


Which Organization Manage Licenses?

Colorado Department of Agriculture

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

Cultivation License

Apply online for a hemp Cultivation License here:

Processing and Manufacturing License

The Colorado Department of Agriculture does not regulate or oversee the processing or manufacturing of hemp. However, you must register with the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

Retail License

There are no Retail Licenses required from the CDA; however, you will need to procure a Farm Products & Commodity Handler License. This license allows a business to sell and store industrial hemp.

Food License

Currently, the CDPHE does not require a food license for hemp products. Instead, they ask that hemp-based manufacturers prove that the hemp that’s used does not contain greater than 0.3% THC and is properly labeled.


Where Can You Legally Consume Cannabis in Colorado?

You cannot consume cannabis in public in Colorado. You can consume marijuana in a private residence or a private building that’s not public.

Driving Under the Influence in Colorado

Driving while under the influence of cannabis is illegal in Colorado.

Can You Transport Marijuana in Colorado?

Yes, as long as you transport legal amounts. If you are a medical marijuana patient, then you may transport 2-ounces of cannabis. If you are a recreational user, then you may transport 1-ounce. For marijuana businesses, you are allowed to transport large quantities of cannabis.

Can You Export Marijuana from Colorado?

Currently, it’s illegal to export marijuana from Colorado to any other state. It’s still viewed as a federal crime because cannabis is federally illegal. It’s not recommended to try to export marijuana from Colorado at this time.

Choose Your Path Below: