You have 3 options:

Option #1: Free Information Below

Continue scrolling through all the information we have provided you on Marijuana Laws by State below, and attempt to figure it out all by yourself… (time-consuming).


Option #2: Cannabis College

Allow Learn Sativa University, guide you step-by-step.

If you are serious about opening up a medical marijuana dispensary in Florida, or getting involved with thte $52.5 million cannabis industry in general – please click the button below in order to learn more about Cannabis College.

We now offer turn-key solutions for those looking to open up a legal operation.


Option #3: Use our Free Cannabis Business Plan Generator Tool

Our new cannabis business plan tool will provide you with a step by step business plan.


Learn Sativa University can help you with the following:

  • Finding Investors
  • Medical Marijuana Business Plans
  • Dispensary Licensing Pre-req’s
  • Cultivation
  • MMTC Layouts
  • Recruiting XP Marijuana Staff
  • Locating DOH MMJ Doctors
  • & Much, Much More.

Choose Your Path Below:

Iowa’s Cannabis and Hemp Laws


Yes. However, it’s important to note that Iowa’s medical marijuana program only allows the use of CBD products that contain less than 0.3% THC. Additionally, there is a limited number of qualifying conditions.

Legal Personal Possession Weight

Qualifying medical patients are allowed to possess a 30-day supply of CBD. This is roughly 32-fluid ounces of CBD oil.




Legal Personal Possession Weight

Cannabis is illegal for recreational use in the state of Iowa. If caught in possession of any amount of cannabis (first offense), the result is an automatic misdemeanor.


Grow Your Own


Plant Count

It’s very illegal to cultivate marijuana in Iowa. Anything under 50kg of plant material is considered a felony in Iowa.


Is Caregiving Allowed


Plant Count

Cultivating cannabis is illegal in the state of Iowa. Anything under 50kg of plant material is considered a felony in Iowa.


Only a 30-day supply of CBD is suitable in the state of Iowa.

License Cost

Currently, the cost of a medical “marijuana” license is $100. However, depending on your status, you may be able to pay a reduced fee of $25.

Apply here:

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

Iowa Department of Public Health


Vertical or Horizontal Cannabis License for Business

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

Iowa Department of Public Health

Currently, Iowa only allows applicants to register for dispensary and manufacturer licenses. All applications are due by June 8th, 2020.

Total Cannabis License Cost

Application fees begin at $5,000. Furthermore, Iowa requires applicants to submit a $10,000 deposit while undergoing a background check. Additionally, a $200 fee is incurred for each employee.

Find out more information here:

All Applicants must apply via IowaGrants:

Medical Cannabidiol Dispensary License Cost

Iowa currently has 2 licenses available for Medical Cannabidiol Dispensaries.

The cost per application is $5,000.

The application can be found here:

Manufacturing License Cost

Currently, Iowa is not granting Manufacturing Licenses at this time. Iowa has already declared the 2 primary medical cannabidiol manufacturers for the state of Iowa.

CBD or Hemp License/Program (Yes or No)


Which Organization Manage Licenses?

Iowa Department of Agriculture

Single Licensee Iowa Hemp Application

Apply here for a Single Licensee Iowa Hemp Application:

Multiple Licensees Iowa Hemp Application

Apply here for a Multiple Licensees Iowa Hemp Application

Association Licensee Iowa Hemp Application

Apply here for an Association Licensee Iowa Hemp Application:

University Licensee Iowa Hemp Application

Apply here for University Licensee Iowa Hemp Application:

Important Regulations Surrounding Hemp in Iowa

Although it’s legal to cultivate hemp with a proper license from the state of Iowa, it’s illegal to transport all forms of hemp.

Read more here:


Where Can You Legally Consume Cannabis in Iowa?

You may consume medical cannabidiol in a private residence as long as you hold a valid medical marijuana card in Iowa.

Driving Under the Influence in Iowa

It is illegal to drive under the influence of cannabis in Iowa. If caught with cannabis that tests higher than 0.3% — you will receive a misdemeanor along with a DUI.

Can You Transport Marijuana in Iowa?

You may transport a 30-day supply of medical cannabidiol in the state of Iowa as long as you hold a valid medical marijuana card.

Can You Export Marijuana from Iowa?

No. It’s illegal to export any form of cannabis in Iowa.

Can You Transport Hemp In Iowa?

No. Although hemp is legal to grow, it’s illegal to transport hemp in the state of Iowa.

Can I Buy Hemp Seed in Iowa?

No. Even if you are a licensed hemp cultivator, you cannot purchase hemp seed until the USDA approves Iowa’s hemp program.

Choose Your Path Below: